Any time a Texas resident is charged with a drug-related crime, the state laws will determine their punishment. If you’ve been charged with drug crimes in Texas, there are various factors that can influence whether or not you go to jail and how much you pay in fines.
Factors that play a role in the type of charges and penalties
Not all drug crimes are equal in the eyes of Texas legislation. There’s a wide array of charges and penalties that a person charged with drug-related crimes may face. One of the biggest factors that determine a person’s penalty is how much of the drug they allegedly had in their possession and the type of drug. Another factor that is taken into consideration is whether the person was accused of drug possession or sales in the presence of minors.
Misdemeanors vs. felonies
When a person is arrested with a small amount of drugs, they are typically charged with a misdemeanor. Misdemeanors are categorized into three classes refer to as A, B and C. Each comes along with its own set of penalties. For example, a Class B misdemeanor is punishable with up to 180 days in jail, a $2,000 fine or both.
When a person is arrested with a large amount of drugs, they typically face felony charges. Felonies are classified into different degrees ranging from first to third. An example of a second-degree felony would be jail time between 2 and 20 years and a fine up to the amount of $10,000. First-degree felonies are the most serious charges that a person can face.
Being charged with a drug crime is no small matter. Many people find themselves facing jail time, fines or both. Having an experienced lawyer by your side may help to ensure that your best interests are looked after throughout the case.