In Texas, there are severe civil and criminal consequences for driving while intoxicated with a child under 15 years old in the car. The penalties include criminal fines up to $10,000, an ignition interlock device, required treatment and rehabilitation programs, state felony jail, and automatic suspension of your driver’s license for up to 180 days.
It’s considered to be a criminal activity to put a child’s safety at risk, which makes it child endangerment to drive under the influence. The courts in Texas are known to increase the penalties when children are involved in DUI cases.
How to avoid driving under the influence
If you want to avoid driving while intoxicated, it’s important to use a device that allows you to monitor your blood alcohol level before getting into a car. You can also eat food in between alcoholic drinks to avoid driving drunk.
It’s also important to avoid driving in the car with an open container of alcohol. If you have a child with you, find a family member or friend who can help you obtain transportation. You can also call a taxi or a rideshare service to protect your safety.
Who can you contact for legal assistance?
If you’re charged with DUI while there was a child in the car, it’s important to reach out to an attorney who has experience handling similar cases. A lawyer can inform you about the laws relating to your offense and will review the details and evidence. Obtaining a defense attorney can improve the outcome to make it work in your favor. A lawyer can also handle similar matters, like domestic family violence, expungement/sealing of records, misdemeanors and theft offenses.