${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Get Legal Advice Today : 915-219-5516

Why punishments for DWI may vary so widely

In the state of Texas, DWI consequences can vary from person to person. While there are objective penalties based on the circumstances in a case, it is possible for a driver to get a plea deal. Those who are charged with their first DWI could face a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 180 days in jail.

These penalties may be in addition to a license suspension of up to one year plus fees to get it reinstated. For a second DWI offense, the fine and the length of the license suspension are double. A jail sentence of up to one year is also possible. It is important to note that these are the penalties for a misdemeanor conviction with no aggravating factors involved.

However, it is possible to get a plea deal even in cases where individuals are killed in drunk driving accidents. In one case, a Texas teenager killed four people, but was given a plea deal that avoided a lengthy stint in jail. Legal observers say that he likely got that deal because of his age and his ability to afford a good attorney. It is also believed that societal views on drinking and driving may also contribute to inconsistent sentences for impaired drivers.

Drivers who are charged with a DWI may face serious legal consequences including jail time and a license suspension. It may be worthwhile to talk with an attorney who might come up with defenses to the charge. For instance, it could be possible to argue that a driver was not over the legal limit at the time of a traffic stop or that a medical condition caused slurred speech or bloodshot eyes during a traffic stop.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

1400 Montana Avenue
El Paso, TX 79902

Toll Free: 888-352-0467
Phone: 915-219-5516
Fax: 915-542-0878
Map & Directions