Rosales Law Firm
Get Legal Advice Today : 915-219-5516

The consequences for receiving a DUI as a minor

Getting a DUI at any age can lead to major consequences. For minors, it becomes more complicated. Before you are 21, it is illegal to be in possession of alcohol or to consume it.

For adults, if blood alcohol content (BAC) is below .08% they will not receive a DUI; for minors, any percentage of BAC can lead to a charge. It is a good idea to go over the consequences of a DUI with your teen before they get behind the wheel.

The number of offenses will worsen the consequences each time. Multiple offenses could lead to lasting impacts that stick around for many years into the future.

Charging minors is based on age. In Texas, anyone under 21 is a minor. However the law applies somewhat differently to those under 17.

  • The first time a minor over 17 gets a DUI, police will most likely arrest them and tow their vehicle. Next, police will take them to the local department and ask for a urine sample. Refusing to give a sample can also cause further issues.
  • If arrested and found guilty, minors could face a fine up to $2,000. They can also get their license suspended for up to 180 days.
  • After multiple offenses, minors over 17 may have to spend time in jail for over 30 days on their second offense, and if they are guilty of 3 offenses, they can be sent to a penitentiary for up to 10 years.

For minors under 17 the consequences are still serious.

  • A fine can be up to $500 the first time a minor under 17 gets a DUI.
  • Minors under 17 with a DUI are required to take a class that will educate them on drunk driving. In some cases, their parents would need to attend these as well.
  • Community service is often the most common punishment given to young minors. They will likely have to perform 40 to 60 hours.

Texas upholds a serious no tolerance policy around driving drunk. For minors, there are serious repercussions that can come with receiving a DUI. To save your child from damaging their future or possibly hurting others, taking the time to go over the consequences can make a major difference. If charged, speaking with an attorney to gain awareness of the repercussions can aid you and your child in navigating how to continue.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

1400 Montana Avenue
El Paso, TX 79902

Toll Free: 888-352-0467
Phone: 915-219-5516
Fax: 915-542-0878
Map & Directions